CLS Handbook for CLS Students at UTMB



Dr. Freeman photo Congratulations on your admission to the Clinical Laboratory Sciences Program. This phase of your education represents a transition in your life and embarks you on a rewarding, exciting, and challenging career. You are now entering into a professional educational program. You will find this academic experience to be very different from your previous schooling. Because the CLS Department is a component of a large academic health center you, as a student, will have the opportunity to interact with many other health care disciplines on the UTMB campus, experiencing a stimulating educational environment while gaining practical experience in clinical laboratory medicine. Embrace the new opportunities presented to you! Following graduation, you will have a wide range of career options.

To prepare you to face the challenges of a changing laboratory environment, the UTMB Clinical Laboratory Sciences faculty use both traditional and cutting edge educational methodologies to incorporate case studies, interactive discussions, hands-on laboratories, research projects, and clinical experiences. The CLS faculty and staff look forward to working with you and are very willing to assist you in any way possible to make this experience a happy and successful endeavor for you.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. We are excited to begin this journey with you. You will quickly discover why we say at UTMB that we are "Here for the Health of Texas."


Dr. Freeman Signature

Vicki S. Freeman, Ph.D., Chair

  1. CLS Faculty and Staff
    • CLS Faculty
      • Vicki Freeman, PhD, MLS(MASCP)CMSC, FACB
      • Eddie Salazar, PhD, MLS(ASCP)CM
      • Janet Enderle, PhD, MLS(ASCP)CM
      • Miriam Corti, PhD, MLS(ASCP)CM
      • Jianzhi Zhang, MD, MS(ASCP)
      • Muneeza Esani, PhD, MT(ASCP)
      • Lee Ann Walker, MS, MLS(ASCP)
      • Hank Thierry, MS, MLS(ASCP)CM, CHES
      • Julie Soder, MS, MLS(ASCP)cm
      • Marla Stevenson, MS, MT(ASCP)
      • Camellia St. John, M.Ed, MT(ASCP)SBB Professor Emeritus
    • CLS Staff
      • Tina Means
      • Shayne Washington, M.Ed.
      • Mark Hackfeld, BS
      • Lynne Riggs
      • Rajkumar Rajendran, MS, MLS(ASCP)cm
      • Shaden Taha, MS
      • Debbie Faubion, MA

  2. CLS Profession

  3. CLS Curriculum

  4. Lab Safety
  5. Policies

  6. Forms

  7. Install Acrobat Reader
Site managed by CLS