School of Health Professions banner

Health Professions E-NEWS

Astrid Inniss

A Message from the Executive Vice President, Provost and Dean, School of Medicine

I am pleased to share the great news that the UTMB Dietetic Internship Program in the School of Health Professions Department of Nutrition and Metabolism, has earned Candidacy for Accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND). Candidacy for Accreditation status demonstrates institutional readiness to implement the proposed program. The School of Health Professions will be immediately accepting students for our Fall 2013 term. Congratulations to Dean Elizabeth Protas, Dr. Astrid Inniss, Director of the Dietetic Internship, and our School of Health Professions faculty members for their efforts.

Dr. Inniss led the accreditation effort. She serves as Associate Director of Nutrition in the Institute for Translational Sciences, Assistant Professor in the Departments of Nutrition and Metabolism (SHP) and Preventive Medicine & Community Health, Human Nutrition Program (SOM), and Adjunct Assistant Professor (SON). She is a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics and active in the community providing nutrition education at various health and wellness events throughout Galveston County.

ACEND's decision was based on a peer review of our self-study report, the site visit report and our program's compliance with Accreditation Standards to provide quality dietetics education. Our Dietetic Internship will offer two tracks: 1) the combined Master's Degree with the Dietetic Internship and 2) the Dietetic Internship Certificate Program. Click here for details.

Dean Protas said, "We are very excited that the new Nutrition and Metabolism program has reached this significant milestone towards program excellence. Congratulations to Dr. Innis, the faculty in the Department of Nutrition and Metabolism, and our planning committee. We are grateful for all of your hard work to establish this new program."

Danny O. Jacobs, MD, MPH, FACS
Executive Vice President, Provost and
Dean of the School of Medicine
Thomas N. & Gleaves T. James Distinguished Chair