School of Health Professions banner

Health Professions E-NEWS


Faculty Acknowledgments

Dr. Carolyn Utsey

Congratulations to Professor Carolyn Utsey, PhD, PT (Physical Therapy) for being approved unanimously by the Academy of Master Teachers (AMT) Advocacy Selection Committee as the UTMB nominee for the 2018 Minnie Stevens Piper Award. The official award selection will be made in May 2018.

Dr. Claudia Hilton Dr. Dana Wild

Congratulations to Associate Professors Dr. Claudia Hilton (Occupational Therapy) and Dr. Dana Wild (Physical Therapy). They were inducted into the Academy of Master Teachers (AMT) on October 17, 2017. The AMT celebrated their 10th anniversary this year as an interprofessional community serving UTMB through promotion of educational excellence.

Daneen Nastars

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Daneen Nastars, MSc, RRT-ACCS (Respiratory Care) for receiving the 2017 Charles W. Serby COPD Research Fellowship Award for her research titled, "Race/Ethnicity and Thirty-Day Readmission in Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease." Nastars was presented the award from the American Respiratory Care Foundation (ARCF) at the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) Congress on October 4, 2017 in Indianapolis, IN.

Dr. Claudia Hilton Dr. Diane Collins Dr. Doug Paddon-Jones

Congratulations to Dr. Claudia Hilton (PI), Dr. Diane Collins, and Dr. Doug Paddon-Jones for receiving a grant from the Texas Society of Allied Health Professionals. Their study, the Effect of Sustained Exercise on Physiological and Behavioral Factors among Adolescents with Autism Spectrum Disorders, will initiate a collaborative arrangement with an area school to study the use of a regular physically challenging exercise program for helping students with autism spectrum disorders (ASD) improve various physical and cognitive aspects.

Further congratulations goes to Dr. Doug Paddon-Jones for receiving a renewal of his R01 grant, "Preserving muscle mass and function in bedridden older adults" from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The goal of his study is to reduce the negative consequences of physical inactivity and promote rehabilitation in aging muscle.

Dr. Tim Reistetter

Congratulations to Dr. Tim Reistetter, PhD, OTR, FAOTA (Occupational Therapy). Dr. Reistetter was awarded the Roster of Merit from the Texas Occupational Therapy Association (TOTA) during their TOTA Mountain Central Conference on November 18, 2017 in Austin, TX.