School of Health Professions banner

Health Professions E-NEWS


SHP Celebrates their 50th Anniversary

David Brown

We are pleased to announce that David A. Brown, PT, PhD, FAPTA, will join UTMB Health as Senior Vice President and Dean for our School of Health Professions, effective March 1, 2019. Dr. Brown is known for his outstanding expertise in leadership, innovation and excellence in education, his commitment to research, and his success as an entrepreneur. Dr. Brown is a leader in the Rehabilitation Science community at the institutional, national, and international levels, with a reputation for cutting-edge research and impact on individuals with neurological dysfunction.

Dr. Brown joins us from The University of Alabama at Birmingham, where he served as Professor in Physical Therapy, Director of the PhD in Rehabilitation Science Program, and co-Director of the UAB University-wide Research Center on Disability Health and Rehabilitation Science. Dr. Brown earned his PhD in Exercise Science from the University of Iowa, MS in Physical Therapy from Duke University and BA in Physics from the University of Rochester. He received post-doctoral research training at Stanford University and the Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Palo Alto, CA.

Dr. Brown has received numerous honors throughout his career. He is a past recipient of the American Physical Therapy Association’s (APTA) Marian Williams Award for Research in Physical Therapy and the APTA Margaret L. Moore Award for Outstanding New Academic Faculty Member. He is also a Catherine Worthingham Fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association. Dr. Brown has conducted research at Emory University, University of Iowa, Stanford University, Northwestern University and the University of Alabama at Birmingham, in the study of the neural control and biomechanics of locomotion. He has examined motor-control issues associated with ambulation after stroke to propose theories surrounding a better understanding of how the damaged nervous system, post-stroke, reorganizes to create functional locomotor behavior. Methodological paradigms have included the influence of cycling, reflex activation and assisted/challenged gait. Over the course of his career, Dr. Brown has collaborated with engineering professionals to develop products, secure patents and investigate the clinical feasibility of these products, in an approach that can serve as a model for all rehabilitation scientists with an interest in translational research. Patented devices developed by Dr. Brown include the limb-loaded cycle ergometer, KineAssist® Walking and Balance System, and PushPull Exercise Test. He has consistently received funding from a variety of federal agencies, private foundations and commercial entities, including the National Institutes of Health, American Heart Association, and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services/National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research.

Dr. Brown brings to UTMB a wealth of leadership experience, an appreciation for the tripartite academic mission, a desire for enhancing diversity, equity, and inclusion in the health professions, and an energy and passion for mentoring and developing others in making their optimal contribution.

We want to express our appreciation to our search committee chair and members for their contributions to the search process. These members include: Mr. Jim Amato; Dr. Christine Baker; Dr. Abbey Berenson; Mr. Scott Boeh; Mr. Toby Boenig; Dr. Karen Chapman; Ms. Betsy Clardy; Dr. Patricia Fingerhut; Dr. Jim Goodwin; Dr. Kathleen Murphy; Dr. David Niesel; Dr. Ken Ottenbacher; Dr. Blake Rasmussen (Chair); Dr. Tim Reistetter; Dr. Laura Rudkin; Mr. Loren Skinner; Mr. Kevin Smith; Dr. Barbara Thompson and Dr. Rebeca Wong.

Please join me in thanking Dr. Vicki Freeman for her outstanding service as interim Dean of the School of Health Professions and in welcoming Dr. Brown to UTMB.


Anish Bhardwaj, MD, MBA
Associate Dean for Faculty Development
Professor (tenured), Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences
Provost ad interim Chair, Department of Neurology
John Sealy Chair of Neurology
Professor, Neurology, Neurosurgery, Neuroscience, Cell Biology and Anatomy