School of Health Professions banner

Health Professions E-NEWS

Dr. Graham

A Message from the Executive Vice President, Provost and Dean, School of Medicine

Our Faculty Senate is a representative body of our entire UTMB faculty and serves to link faculty members and administration on matters that advance the academic life and welfare of our University. Officers are chosen in a yearly election to serve a one-year term as Chair and Chair-Elect. I am pleased to announce that effective September 1, 2013, Dr. Lisa Cain will be our new Faculty Senate Chair and Dr. James Graham will be our new Chair-Elect.

Dr. Cain currently serves as Associate Professor in the Department of Neuroscience and Cell Biology, Associate Member of the Institute for the Medical Humanities, Director of the Medical School Enrichment Programs, and was recently named a Distinguished Teaching Professor by UT System. Dr. Cain has served on numerous committees for our Institution, including serving as Chair of our Faculty Senate's Academic and Administrative Affairs Committee, Chair of the Committee for Diversity in Graduate Education, and Vice Chair of the School of Medicine Curriculum Committee. Currently, she is a member of our Medical School Admissions Committee and the Principal Co-Chair of the UT System Faculty Advisory Council Health Affairs Committee.

Dr. Graham is an Associate Professor in the School of Health Professions' Division of Rehabilitation Sciences and a Fellow in the Sealy Center on Aging. He serves on the Graduate Policy Committee in the Department of Preventive Medicine and Community Health and is Chair of the Institutional Review Board for the Transitional Learning Center in Galveston. As an educator, he has been recognized for his teaching excellence, receiving awards from both the Graduate Student Organization (Teaching Excellence Award) and the Academy of Master Teachers (Educator of the Month).

Sincerely yours,
Danny O. Jacobs, MD, MPH, FACS
Executive Vice President, Provost and
Dean of the School of Medicine
Thomas N. & Gleaves T. James Distinguished Chair

Please join me in congratulating and supporting Drs. Cain and Graham in their new roles.