School of Health Professions banner

Health Professions E-NEWS


Dr. Ken Ottenbacher Receives Prestigious Golden Key Awards

Dr. Kenneth Ottenbacher

The 2016 Gold Key Award recipient is Kenneth J. Ottenbacher, PhD, OTR, FACRM, University of Texas Medical Branch.

Kenneth J. Ottenbacher holds the Russell Shearn Moody Distinguished Chair in Neurological Rehabilitation at the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB). He is Professor and Director of the Division of Rehabilitation Sciences in the School of Health Professions. He is also Director of the Center for Recovery, Physical Activity and Nutrition, and Associate Director for the Sealy Center on Aging. Dr. Ottenbacher received his PhD from the University of Missouri-Columbia and is a licensed occupational therapist.

Dr. Ottenbacher began his academic career at the University of Wisconsin - Madison working through the ranks from assistant professor to professor. He went to the State University of New York at Buffalo in 1990 serving as Associate Dean for Research and Academic Affairs in the School of Health Related Professions, Professor in the Department of Occupational Therapy, Professor in the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, and Associate Director of the Center for Functional Assessment Research in the Uniform Data System for Medical Rehabilitation. In 1995, he joined UTMB as Professor and Vice Dean of the School of Allied Health Sciences. He has received numerous awards for his research and service including fellow status in the American Occupational Therapy Association, the American Academy of Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine, the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine, and the Gerontological Society of America.

Dr. Ottenbacher's research interests include rehabilitation outcomes with a focus on functional assessment, disability and frailty in older adults using large datasets. He has published more than 300 articles in refereed journals. Dr. Ottenbacher's research has been supported by continuous federal funding since 1984. He is currently the principal investigator or project leader on seven grants including four from the National Institutes of Health, two from the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research, and one from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Source: American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine