Blake Rasmussen, PhD


Dr. Blake Rasmussen, PhD is the Interim Chair of the Department of Nutrition and Metabolism in the School of Health Professions. Dr. Rasmussen holds the Lloyd and Sue Ann Hill Endowed Professorship in Healthy Aging and is currently the Director of the Department's Muscle Biology & Metabolism Laboratory and the Leader of the NIH funded Claude D. Pepper Older Americans Independence Center Pilot and Exploratory Studies Core at UTMB.

After earning his bachelor's (cum laude) and master's degree in Exercise Science from Utah State University and a PhD in Zoology/Cell Biology from Brigham Young University in 1997, Dr. Rasmussen came to UTMB in 1997 as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the Department of Surgery/Metabolism, completing his training in 1999. He then accepted an assistant professor position at the University of Southern California in 2000 before returning to UTMB in 2004 as an associate professor in the Department of Physical Therapy in the School of Health Professions. He received tenure in 2006. Currently Blake is a member of the Pepper Center executive committee, the UTMB research advisory committee, and the UTMB Institute for Translational Sciences scientific review committee. On the national level he is a member of the Awards Committee for the American Physiological Society, a frequent member of NIH study sections, on the editorial board of the Journal of Applied Physiology, and an associate member of the University of Kentucky Center for Muscle Biology. On an international level he has served on several Scientific Review Committees including The Wellcome Trust, Dunhill Medical Trust, and the Biotechnology and Biological Science Research Council, UK.

Dr. Rasmussen's research is focused on how nutrition and exercise influence muscle biology and in developing clinical interventions to prevent muscle loss during aging and other muscle wasting conditions. Dr. Rasmussen has published more than 70 papers in the fields of Nutrition, Metabolism and Exercise Physiology and has trained several postdoctoral fellows and PhD students at UTMB.