School of Health Professions banner

Office of the Dean

The Office of the Dean provides administrative direction for the School of Health Professions. In addition, the Office of the Dean assists all departmental support staff in the areas of accounting, travel, and personnel administration.

Over the years, as a part of this campus, our school has developed a reputation for helping the university focus on its five core values: education, innovation, service, community, and diversity.

These core values are expressed in the following beliefs that guide our daily activities:

  • We believe that health profession's education should focus on competency and compassion, and that it should represent a partnership between the school and the students we serve.
  • We believe that innovation is the hallmark of a great institution. We're always looking for new ways to make things better.
  • We believe that service is an attitude that characterizes professional people. Professionals always put the needs of others before their own.
  • We believe that the campus community is part of a larger community, with whom we must partner if we are to be effective. Our educational programs emphasize community-based learning and practice.
  • We believe that the demographic characteristics of the healthcare workforce should mirror the population. Our school has been among the leaders in fostering diversity in our student body and in our faculty and support staff.

Contact Us

School of Health Professions
301 University Boulevard
Galveston, Texas 77555-1028

O: SHP/SON 4.220
P: 409-772-3001
F: 409-772-3014
E: shp.mhp@utmb.edu

Staff and Executive Leadership

Dr. Elizabeth J. Protas

Elizabeth J. Protas, PT, PhD, FACSM, FAPTA
Vice President and Dean, School of Health Professions
George T. Bryan Distinguished Professor

E: ejprotas@utmb.edu

Dr. Sheryl Green

Sheryl Green, DDS
Administrator

E: sa3green@utmb.edu

Leti Ford

Leti Ford
Business Operations Manager

E: ltford@utmb.edu

Judy Wolf

Judy Wolf
Administrative Associate

E: jwolf@utmb.edu

Susan King

Susan King
Sr. Financial Analyst

E: csking@utmb.edu

Hyacinth Woods

Hyacinth Woods
Business Coordinator

E: hewoods@utmb.edu